Cobbler’s Daughter & New Pieces Out

Yes, it’s been more than a year since my last post. I’m not proud of it, but there it is.

It’s not because I don’t have anything to say. Quite the opposite. But I haven’t written much fiction lately. I’ve been dabbling with a few projects, pulling myself in too many directions to focus.

Recent conversation.

My writing mentor: “Why don’t you just pick one?”

Me: “Uhhhhhh. I should probably do that.”

A few things I’ve been working on:

  • mcconnellwriterspaceNo Extra Words podcast posted my flash fiction piece “Not Dog People” in their Episode 54 (time code: 11:28).
  • They then asked me to contribute a piece about my writing space, which was part of Episode 78 (time code: 21:39). I’ve never been part of a podcast and am thrilled to be included in No Extra Words. Check them out and submit!
  • My poem “When You Turn Away” will be published in late May in Buck Off Magazine.
  • In 2009, my story, The Safest Place in the World, was published by Spectrum (U.C. Santa Barbara). They wrote to me a couple weeks ago with some of the sweetest words a writer could hear:
    This year, Spectrum is working to publish an anthology of works from decades past and we would like your permission to republish your piece. We have loved going back through the years to find pieces that still move our hearts today, and we would be honored if you would allow us to reprint your piece in this year’s edition.”
    A thousand times, yes! The anthology will be out in June.
  • I was asked to be guest editor of Issue 109 of Prime Number Magazine, due out this summer. What a privilege to read nearly 200 short stories in just a few months. What agony to choose only three to be published in the issue!

So all that, plus starting a new job 11 months ago as a full-time copywriter, has kept me writing. But now I need to pick, and focus, and I’ve chosen the screenplay that I’ve been writing (more off than on) since 2004. Stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

