I’ve Ruined Another Story

What began as a great idea has devolved into an utter mess.

Normal

I had a good draft of a story – first written about a year ago – and I’ve ruined it.

I’ve re-written it too many times and listened to too many opinions of other people. I smoothed out the edges and the story has lost its life.

It reminds me of a Spongebob Squarepants episode where he is urged to become “normal.” Eventually all his edges are smoothed away and his holes are gone and he is devoid of personality. He is completely dull.

That’s what my story feels like now. It doesn’t feel like me.

I’ll have to go back and look at my original draft and basically begin over. I need to recapture the impulse I first had to write the story.

This has happened before and all has turned out well, it’s just a frustrating way to get there.

Leave a Reply

