I’ve Figured it Out, for Today

I don’t particularly like covers, as in cover songs. Maybe because I don’t like change (who does?).

Samoa

A hint of what this novel is about.

But the idea is appealing and I can see why so many artists do them. It’s intriguing to do you own take on something else – usually someone else’s work.

For NaNoWriMo, I’m going to cover my own work.

I’ve always had trouble figuring out how to ‘fix’ one (really, all) of my novels. Unfortunately I write novels the way I think novels should be written. But they don’t turn out well. They read as if the author tried to hard to sound writerly.

So I’ve taken the last draft of one of my novels and am pretending that it was written by someone else.

This way, I can rewrite the novel – from scratch – the way “I,” as a short story writer, would tell the story.

I’ve got 4,000 words so far (a little behind pace) and am quite happy with the way this method is working.

Fingers crossed.

One thought on “I’ve Figured it Out, for Today

  1. What a great idea! And we could try write like Jane Austin or write like Bernard Cornwell – or even write like Danielle Steele.

Leave a Reply

