Book Review: The Sin Eater & Other Stories

Who doesn’t love to get free books?!

The Main Street Rag, Spring 2013 issue

The Main Street Rag, Spring 2013

Imagine my delight when I was selected to be a book reviewer for the Main Street Rag, which publishes its own literary magazine as well as books of poetry, fiction, and non-fiction.

Unfortunately, not all books are winners, and I was instructed not to review a book if I didn’t like it and couldn’t truly recommend it to others. Which is what happened with the first book they sent me.

Fortunately, the Reviews Editor also told me I could review books of my own choosing.

And luckily, I had just bought and read a great one!

My review of “The Sin Eater & Other Stories,” by Elizabeth Frankie Rollins, has just come out in the Spring issue of the Main Street Rag.

Here is an excerpt of my review:

I first heard of Elizabeth “Frankie” Rollins at Goddard College around 2000. She was a couple of semesters ahead of me. I did not know her personally, but sat there enthralled as she read “The Sin Eater,” a story that has stayed with me ever since.

Now, reading it again so many years later, I am still in awe. This story draws you in and doesn’t let go. The premise, the visceral descriptions, the complicated humanity of the characters – they are all wholly original and captivating.

And she does it in second person. This is a tough feat, yet Rollins makes is feel completely natural.

To read the rest of the review, you’ll have to purchase a copy of the magazine.

Better yet, get yourself Frankie’s book!

One thought on “Book Review: The Sin Eater & Other Stories

Leave a Reply

