Can’t Win if You Don’t Play

I submitted Welcome, Anybody for the next Pulitzer Prize in fiction.

Dan suggested it. I scoffed. “But why not?” he asked. “What do you have to lose?”

50 bucks and four copies of the book. Not much in the big picture.

I know there is no chance of me winning, but then I couldn’t stop thinking of Wayne Gretzky’s famous line, “You miss 100% of the shots you don’t take.”

Someone has to win it, right? (Well, obviously not!)

But still. If I take myself seriously as an author, I need to put my work out there. Same reason I’m sending it to Oprah’s magazine.

And you never know what might happen.

Maybe someone who reads it during the review process will like it and recommend it to someone, etc., etc.

I feel like my life has been a series of ‘you never know.’ Worked so far.

One thought on “Can’t Win if You Don’t Play

Leave a Reply

