The Over/Under of Publishing

Author board at the Book Loft in Columbus.

The last two weeks have been exhausting but a dream come true: 3 book reading/signings in 3 cities in 2 states. I actually wasn’t nervous once I got up to read.

Maybe it was the confidence of knowing that the stories were good. Maybe it was seeing so many friends who wish only the best for me. Maybe it was the pre-reading glass of wine.

Doesn’t matter – it was all good.

By the end of the two weeks, I was exhausted like I haven’t been in a long time. I slept and slept and finally woke up feeling normal.

A few weeks ago, a friend who published her first book last year (with a different publisher) asked me how my book launch was going. For her, she told me, “it was both overwhelming and underwhelming.”

I’ve thought a lot about that and I think the over/under description is apt. It is absolutely overwhelming to have a dream come true. It’s a dizzying feeling having my work out in public and fun to be the center of attention for a while.

At the same time, as Lewis Buzbee told me so long ago, “publishing is great, but it won’t change your life.” And it hasn’t. I still work a day job. Get my daughter on the school bus. Walk the dogs.

But now I do all that with this huge accomplishment behind me and endless writing possibilities ahead.

Leave a Reply

