“Nobody Move”

Finished reading Denis Johnson’s “Nobody Move.”

I loved Johnson’s “Jesus’ Son” so I was excited to read this new one. He is nothing if not a story teller. I forgot I was reading words that someone wrote down –  that someone made up. It was an engaging tale that felt like he was telling to me alone.

It’s like watching Matt Damon or Brad Pitt in any movie now. I can’t forget that it’s MATT DAMON or BRAD PITT, no matter what character they are playing. As people, they are now bigger than the characters they play.

Often it’s like that with books. The characters aren’t engaging enough or the language is too stilted that I can’t forget I’m reading words that someone wrote down on paper.

“Nobody Move” felt nothing like that. I saw the characters, the cars and two buildings that were prominent in the story, heard the rush of the river never far away.

At no time did I hear, feel or see the writer. And that is a beautiful thing.

Leave a Reply

