Books Worth Re-Reading

There are few books, or movies, or conversations, that I like to repeat. But there are a handful of books that I read at least once a year.

  • “The Feast of Love,” by Charles Baxter. This is my favorite book of all time. If you haven’t read this book, you should.
  • A Confederacy of Dunces,” by John Kennedy Toole. Fall-down hilarious and memorable. The story behind the novel is tragic but I am thankful for his mother’s perseverance to bring this treasure to light.
  • “Emma,” by Jane Austen. I re-read most of her novels, but this is by far my favorite.
  • “A Supposedly Fun Thing I’ll Never Do Again,” by David Foster Wallace. This essay is funny, poignant, insightful, and endearing. Wallace pours himself into all his writing and this is one of the most accessible and entertaining of them all.

Books I have re-read at least once over the years:

  • “Royal Beatings,” a short story by Alice Munro. I love all her stories, especially this one in the collection “The Beggar Maid.” She was and continues to be one of the biggest influences on my writing. This was the first story of hers that I read and it remains one of the best.
  • “The Corrections,” by Jonathan Franzen, to see if I was as impressed the second time. I was.
  • “Catcher in the Rye,” and “To Kill a Mockingbird.”  They had such an impression on me  in high school that I’ve returned to them every few years since.

Leave a Reply

