What’s Next

Submit entry and samples for the Ohio Arts Council grant? Check.

Get back on the Twitter bandwagon as @jentheauthor? Check.

Write on the blog at least a couple times a week? Check.

Query an agent for my short story collection? Gulp.

I’ve queried agents before. I’ve even had a couple nibbles. But this particular agent seems perfect for me and so I am nervous. It’s not that I’m worried about being rejected – that’s a foregone conclusion – but I hate wanting it so much.

After the first few rejection letters for stories, I grew a thick skin, knowing eventually my writing would find its audience. But now that I want it to go through a certain lens – this specific agent – that makes me nervous. Because if she says no, then what?

Leave a Reply

